Welcome to Books, Bitches.

Hello, m’ladies. The reason I want to start “Books, Bitches” is to bring my long-distance (and close distance) friends together so we can all keep in touch and hopefully read some interesting books (…but ya don’t have to take MY word for it… doot doot DOOT!) So, if you know anyone else who might be interested in joining, just send ’em this link! It’s free to sign up with WordPress. Free!

The plan is to meet online on this sexy-ass forum, biweekly to start it off. If this becomes a “reg” thing in our lives, then we can reorganize our meeting times. For now, let’s just meet on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of every month. What time of day, do you ask? I assume most of your posts might be written after work time (cuz you’re all sssssuch diligent workers,right?) and since we’re all in different time zones, I didn’t want to set anything in stone as far as meeting time. We’ll see how it goes for now. So really, you can post anytime Wednesday, at your own pace throughout the day. Of course, feel free to add your comments any day of the week, at any hour, with any reason.

The first official meeting is February 1st. From now until that day, try to come up with 2 book titles you might be interested to read (and short descriptions of each) and post them here, with a quick intro of yourself (name + location + profession + etc). On Feb 1st we can vote on what the first book SHALL BE!
When that’s been determined, go out to your local library or book store (R.I.P. Borders ::pours out a bit of a 40 oz.:: ) and read at least 2 chapters and bring 2 questions/comments for discussion durring the next meeting.
MOST IMPORTANTLY: feel free to “bitch” about whatevah you liiiiiike guurl.
Thanks for all the email responses already, and I look forward to the books and the bitching!  Mwwak!
I leave you with some classic Levar Burton: 
16 thoughts on “Welcome to Books, Bitches.

  1. Tiffany says:

    Hi everyone! It is nice to meet you if I haven’t already 🙂

    I’m Tiffany and I live in Austin. I’m currently a UX designer but I’m hoping to expand that title to random things that catch my fancy in the near future. I wanna get a Corgi puppy one day, I like drawing cute foods with faces, and I just started getting into yoga.

    Books are my friends (except for the dumb ones that I don’t like). Some of my favorite books include The Little Prince, The Alchemist, and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.

    A couple of books I’m interested in reading are “Bossypants” because I love Tina Fey and “Good Omens” because I’ve heard it’s good/hilarious.

    Amazon book descriptions:
    “Bossypants” – At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon — from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

    Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy.

    “Good Omens” – The world will end on Saturday. Next Saturday. Just before dinner, according to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies written in 1655. The armies of Good and Evil are amassing and everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except that a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture. And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist.

  2. elisedann says:

    Hello new friends!

    My name is Elise and I am an Austinite. I have lived here since I was 8 and can’t seem to get away. :] I love it here!
    I would like to say that I am an adventurer. I love to explore, hike, and Geocache whenever I get the chance. I love trying new things! I currently work at a church, serving as a Youth Intern. It is awesome. I love my teens. I am obsessed with music. I am constantly looking for new music to add to my collection. Live music shows are the make-up of my existence.

    Reading has always been something that I enjoy doing.
    Some of my favorite works are: The Scarlet Letter, Driving with Dead People, The Works of William Wordsworth, Lord of the Rings Trilogy, and Alice in Wonderland.

    I am definitely interested in reading many books this year! But, I am REALLY interested in reading, “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.” Tim Burton has been talking about making it into a movie, so I am intrigued! I also am interested in reading, “Bossypants.” (Way to go, Tiffany! Yeah!) Tina Fey is genius.

    Here are some summaries:

    Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
    A mysterious island.An abandoned orphanage.A strange collection of very curious photographs.It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

    Bossypants
    (Tiffany summarized this one well. Read up!)

    Can’t wait, ladies.
    Elise

    • That Tim Burton one sounds like it would be pretty good. Do you know when the movie is coming out?

      We should Geocache sometime. I need an excuse to get outside when the weather is abnormally, global-warmingly 80 degrees like today.

  3. Oh hai!

    I’m Kristen, so far I know both Tiffany and Elise, but to the rest… hello! I live in Austin and I am a Mobile Designer/UX Architect. I am looking to go back to school and become an art teacher, and most importantly open my own cupcake business! I bake almost every week, and taste flavors on my co-workers. I hope to start selling at farmers markets in town soon. I bake all organic cupcakes, and starting to bake vegan and gluten free! I love cupcakes, alligators, and most importantly.. penguins!

    I love reading, but I find that I haven’t had much time recently. I mainly like to read books about romance or humor. The most recent book I read was Something Borrowed, and it was fantastic. Favorite hilarious book of all time is Napalm and Silly Putty by George Carlin.

    I want to start reading the Sookie Stackhouse series that True Blood is based upon by Charlaine Harris, starting with Dead Until Dark. I also need to read Bossypants because Laura bought it for me for my birthday and I’ve yet to read it!!

    Dead Until Dawn-
    Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much. Not because she’s not pretty. She is. It’s just that, well, Sookie has this sort of “disability.” She can read minds. And that doesn’t make her too dateable. And then along comes Bill. He’s tall, dark, handsome — and Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the type of guy she’s been waiting for all her life… But Bill has a disability of his own: He’s a vampire with a bad reputation. He hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, all suspected of — big surprise — murder. And when one of Sookie’s coworkers is killed, she fears she’s next…

    I’m exicted!! :]
    Kristen

  4. Jex Musa says:

    OK THIRD TRY. I’m just going to give my book suggestions so we can get cracking!

    A Murakami book: I’m going to get to 1Q84 eventually but maybe The Wind-up Bird Chronicle?

    And I’m seconding Miss Peregrine’s!

  5. Stephanie Jennings says:

    Hi everyone!

    I’m Stephanie and live in DC. So far I know Tiffany–she and I went to high school in Dallas together and she still hasn’t managed to get rid of me yet. 🙂

    I love to cook and bake. I recently got into jewelry making and enjoy swimming and yoga. I also have a book-buying problem and am really sad there is no Half-Price Books in DC. I find myself stranded on the bus/subway a lot, so books are a saving grace.

    I work as a researcher at a company that does intellectual property consulting. Basically, I read really technical stuff all day.

    My first suggestion is The Help. I’ve been meaning to read it for a long time now and this could be a fun forum for that. My second choice is the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

    Here are the descriptions from Amazon:

    The Help:
    Starred Review. What perfect timing for this optimistic, uplifting debut novel (and maiden publication of Amy Einhorn’s new imprint) set during the nascent civil rights movement in Jackson, Miss., where black women were trusted to raise white children but not to polish the household silver. Eugenia Skeeter Phelan is just home from college in 1962, and, anxious to become a writer, is advised to hone her chops by writing about what disturbs you. The budding social activist begins to collect the stories of the black women on whom the country club sets relies and mistrusts enlisting the help of Aibileen, a maid who’s raised 17 children, and Aibileen’s best friend Minny, who’s found herself unemployed more than a few times after mouthing off to her white employers. The book Skeeter puts together based on their stories is scathing and shocking, bringing pride and hope to the black community, while giving Skeeter the courage to break down her personal boundaries and pursue her dreams. Assured and layered, full of heart and history, this one has bestseller written all over it. (Feb.)
    Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks:
    From a single, abbreviated life grew a seemingly immortal line of cells that made some of the most crucial innovations in modern science possible. And from that same life, and those cells, Rebecca Skloot has fashioned in The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks a fascinating and moving story of medicine and family, of how life is sustained in laboratories and in memory. Henrietta Lacks was a mother of five in Baltimore, a poor African American migrant from the tobacco farms of Virginia, who died from a cruelly aggressive cancer at the age of 30 in 1951. A sample of her cancerous tissue, taken without her knowledge or consent, as was the custom then, turned out to provide one of the holy grails of mid-century biology: human cells that could survive–even thrive–in the lab. Known as HeLa cells, their stunning potency gave scientists a building block for countless breakthroughs, beginning with the cure for polio. Meanwhile, Henrietta’s family continued to live in poverty and frequently poor health, and their discovery decades later of her unknowing contribution–and her cells’ strange survival–left them full of pride, anger, and suspicion. For a decade, Skloot doggedly but compassionately gathered the threads of these stories, slowly gaining the trust of the family while helping them learn the truth about Henrietta, and with their aid she tells a rich and haunting story that asks the questions, Who owns our bodies? And who carries our memories?

  6. vflores007 says:

    Hello all! My name is Valerie, I met Laura while living in Hawaii (Oh how I miss my island!). I’m currently land locked in San Antonio TX, where I’m originally from. I teach 3rd grade, I love to bake, and I’m a pinterest addict. I just finished reading A Total Waste of Makeup by Kim Gruenenfelder about two days ago so I’m due for a new book! I would love to read Bossy Pants or Miss Peregrine’s, they both sound like great choices.

  7. O Hai! I thought I would introduce myself too. I’m Laura. I live in Austin these days. I am currently a freelance (aka unemployed) UX/UI Designer!! Wooot! So I’ll have some free time on my hands these days to do such things as, say, start book clubs with you FAWYNE ladies!

    Favorite current hobby: UKULELE BEECHEZ!!! Yeah, so I used to live in Hawaii… NEVER picked up a ukelele until I moved to AUSTIN and now suddenly I’m addicted. I’ve only been playing for a few months though. Maybe I’ll record a lil’ su’in su’in one of these days.

    Second newest/favorite hobby: taking care of my little garden. I’m trying to grow some Guava nom nom nom favorite fruit in the world, nectar of the gods.

    Third: I learned to tango this new year’s eve and I am thinking about finding some lessons here in town. randommmmmm.

    Book suggestions:

    I would love to read Bossy Pants

    -or-

    The Hunger Games (apparently they are coming out with a movie of that book soon March 23)

    The Hunger Games trailer is here: http://www.thehungergamesmovie.com/index2.html

    “Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives in a post-apocalyptic world in the country of Panem where the countries of North America once existed. The Capitol, a highly advanced metropolis, holds absolute power over the rest of the nation. The Hunger Games are an annual event in which one boy and one girl aged 12 to 18 from each of the 12 districts surrounding the Capitol are selected by lottery to compete in a televised battle in which only one person can survive.”

Leave a Reply

